Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

Library Mission, Policies, Procedures, and Forms: Home

Information about NLTCC Library

NLTCC Library's Mission

"The NLTCC Library and Library Resource Centers (LRC) is committed to reinforcing the schools mission in providing the educational tools needed for quality workforce training and transfer opportunities to students seeking a competitive edge in today's global economy." 

The NLTCC Library strives to meet the following goals to successfully serve the College's information needs:

  • Provide easy, reliable access to Library resources.
  • Teach information literacy to all Library users through classroom instruction and/or program engagement.
  • Promote literacy to students to encourage life-long learning and critical thinking in today’s competitive workforce

 

Collection Development Policy

The primary function of collection development activities at the Library is to build and maintain a Library collection in various formats to support the College curriculum, mission, and information needs of the students, staff, and faculty. Additionally, the Library strives to support the needs of faculty and staff in their work and research.

The collection development policy is a statement of principles, guidelines, and criteria used by Librarian in the selection, acquisition, evaluation, maintenance, and des-election of Library materials in a variety of formats.  The purpose of the collection development policy is to assist the librarian in providing current, diverse, and balanced collections of materials to support the instructional, institutional and individual needs of students, staff, faculty, and other stakeholders.

I. COLLEGE MISSION

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is committed to providing quality workforce training and transfer opportunities to students seeking a competitive edge in today’s global economy.  

II. LIBRARY MISSION

The NLTCC Library strives to meet the following goals to successfully serve the College's information needs:

  • Provide easy, reliable access to Library resources.
  • Teach information literacy to all Library users through classroom instruction and/or program engagement.
  • Promote literacy to students to encourage life-long learning and critical thinking in today’s competitive workforce

III. SELECTION GOALS

  • To provide materials that will enrich and support the curriculum.
  • To provide materials which will encourage and promote literacy.
  • To support the mission, goals, and core abilities of the College and Library.

IV. GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR SELECTION

A. Selection Procedure:

1. In selecting resources, The Librarian will evaluate available resources according to the selection criteria, using one or more of the following resources:

     a) Professional, critical reviews in review journals such as Choice, Booklist, Library Journal and Counterpoise.

     b) Critical reviews in appropriate subject area periodicals, alternative periodicals, and online/Internet resources.

     c) Evaluation of the author and/or publisher when alternative or other material has not been reviewed.

     d) Recommendations of faculty, students, subject matter specialists, and community members.

     e) Previewing the resource.

B.  Selection Priorities:

1. Material will be acquired that is consistent with the mission of the Library, i.e. print and non-print items that support existing College programs.

2. Purchase priorities will be generally as follows:

     a) Material directly related to College programs that serve the students' reference and research needs.

     b) Materials spotlighting career goals, exploring employment opportunities, or self-improvement within the framework of the college.

     c) Support of faculty and staff in their work and research.

     d) Supplemental Reserve items requested by faculty and staff to supplement courses, workshops, seminars, etc.

IX.   POLICIES BY FORMAT

A. General Collection Books and Reference: 

In addition to consulting reviews from professional and popular sources, books will be evaluated using the following criteria: scope, treatment, authorship, relevance to collection, relation to other resources, format, currency, cost, special or unique features, and likelihood of use.

     1. Other guidelines: Materials that are lost, stolen, or never returned will be replaced as the Library’s budget allows. Materials that are no longer available may be replaced with similar titles. The Library may opt to purchase like-new or very good used replacement copies if a new book is not available and deemed relevant. The Library may choose to not replace a title if current or anticipated use does not justify the cost of replacement.

B.  Textbooks: 

Due to high cost and frequent revision, the Library generally does not purchase textbooks. Provided funds are available, exceptions can be made for textbooks that are the only source of information on a topic or recommended by faculty as an exceptional resource. Instructional departments and programs are encouraged to submit a copy of their relevant course textbook to be placed on Reserve for student use.  At the discretion of the selector, textbooks may be added to the general collection when removed from the Reserve collection.  Workbooks without accompanying texts will not be added to the collection unless specifically requested by the instructor.

C.  Print Periodicals:

Selection of periodical titles will be determined by the general criteria used in the selection of all materials.  In addition, full-text availability in one of the library’s subscription databases will be a factor in the selection of print subscriptions.  Selectors are responsible for recommending print periodicals that support the curriculum in their subject area.  The Manager of Library Services is responsible for managing the selection and de-selection of print periodicals.   Titles that are available in Library databases or the Internet will not be purchased in print.  The Library will attempt to provide online access to titles whenever available if the cost can be managed within the Library’s budget. 

D.  Electronic Journals/Databases: 

Licensed online resources are a significant part of the Library’s collection and account for the largest aspect of the collection budget.  Due to considerable ongoing cost, selection of these resources is carefully considered.

X. GIFTS

A. General:

The Library accepts gift material with the understanding that the Library, at its discretion, will only add items to the collection that meet its needs.  Gift materials will be judged by the same selection guidelines as purchased material.

Additional criteria for accepting gifts include specific age restrictions and condition of book.  Typically, nonfiction books must be less than five years old; computer books must be less than two years old.  There is no age restriction for fiction.  Books must be in good condition with no sign of mildew, bugs, or excess wear and tear.  Books that do not meet these guidelines will be disposed of in accordance to the Library de-selection procedures.

On request, a donation form will be given to the donor to acknowledge receipt of the gift. Internal Revenue Service regulations prohibit the Library from providing appraisals of gifts or endorsing their value. The law places upon the donor the responsibility to establish the fair market value of an item contributed to a charity, but a formal appraisal is not always necessary. Any appraisals done must be completed before the gift is accepted by the Library. For more information, see IRS Publication 561 "Determining the Value of Donated Property".

The Library reserves the right to dispose of duplicate and unwanted material.  Disposal may be by direct sale, by gifts to other libraries, by discard, or other appropriate means in accordance to College policies and procedures.

The Library cannot give receipts for previously donated material.

XI. WEEDING / DESELECTION

Weeding the collection by discarding materials is as important in maintaining a useful collection as is the careful selection of new materials. The Manager of Library Services will direct the ongoing weeding process, which will generally be carried out by Library staff. The Library collection is intended to be a useful, working resource, not an archival or museum collection. Obsolete and inappropriate materials occupy expensive storage space, distract from other current materials containing important information, and may in fact provide students with information which is no longer accurate. Generally, material which is outdated, little used and/or in poor condition will be discarded. Faculty members are welcome to identify materials which should be discarded for the above reasons. Where a book plate has been added to the inside cover of a book (or if the book is a part of a special collection) the Manager of Library Services will make the final weeding decision.

Materials weeded from the Library collection will be disposed of as the Library determines appropriate including by direct sale, by gifts to other libraries, by discard, or other appropriate means in accordance with College policies and procedures. 

XII. QUESTIONED OR CHALLENGED MATERIAL

An Academic Library must be a forum for free exchange of ideas in the student's pursuit of knowledge. With this in mind, the Library will make available to its users materials offering the widest variety of viewpoints regardless of the popularity of subject or author.  Persons objecting to material in the Library collection should request to fill out and submit a Materials Reconsideration for further action.

XIII. POLICY REVIEW

The Library Collection Development policy will be reviewed and updated as necessary by the Manager of Library Services and designated Library staff. The purpose of the review is to consider whether existing collection goals are being met and to examine any changes in defined goals and user needs. Changes will be made to the policy when appropriate.

Search Library Databases

Librarian

Profile Photo
Connie Lawman
Contact:
Main Campus
9500 Industrial Drive
Minden, LA 71055
318.371.3035 ext 1115